The logo of the tercentenary is based on a picture that was painted by the leading botanical artist of his day, Georg Dilnys Ehret. The painting illustrates Class 10 of the sexual system.
The Linnaeus Celebration
Carl Linnaeus
Science & Research
School Activities
Public Education

Organisation of the Linnaeus Tercentenary

H M the King of Sweden is the Tercentenary patron.

An Honorary Committee has been established whose members include the Speaker of the Swedish Parliament. the Prime Minister, the Archbishop, the Minister for Education, Research and Culture; and the presidents of the Swedish academies of science.

A National Linnaeus Commission with 13 members has been appointed by the government, and is chaired by the Governor of Uppsala County, Anders Björck. Deputy Director General of the Swedish Research Council, Gunnel Gustafsson, is vice chair.

A national Linnaeus secretariat has been established at the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences whose role is to coordinate the work of the committees and working groups, and to be responsible for matters of common interest such as the coordination of celebrations and major national events, information and marketing, tourism, the website, the calendar, sponsoring and commercial contacts.

Regional Organisation
Different regions are responsible for coordinating programmes and activities at a regional and local level. Contact information is available here for the various regional coordinators.

National Subcommittees
The various parts if the project are coordinated in the national subcommittees. Contact information is available here for these committees.

All information on this web site is from the Linnaeus Tercentenary year of 2007 and has not been updated since. If using texts from this web site, please refer to Linnaeus2007 as the source.
Use of pictures from sit web site is not allowed.

Click on the image to see the complete Organisation chart